Site Backups

Table of Contents

Understanding and Using Site Backups

With Site Backups, you can create copies of all your website pages and their content. This feature helps protect your website from accidental mistakes, unwanted changes, or data corruption, ensuring you can always revert to a stable version.

Types of Site Backups

  • Manual Backups. These are backups you create yourself at any time. This section will remain empty until you create your first backup.
  • Automatic Backups. The system automatically creates these backups for you one hour after the last change in the Site Editor. After applying new changes, the backup countdown starts from the beginning. You can see the date and time of the last automatic update in its section.
  • Last Published Backups. A special type of automatic backup created specifically when you publish your project.

Backups Limits

There is a limit of backups that can be created for your project:

  • Published Site. You can have up to 10 backups in total: 8 manual, 1 automatic, and 1 last published backup.
  • Unpublished Site. You can have up to 9 backups in total: 8 manual and 1 automatic backup. 

Accessing and Managing Site Backups

To access your site backups:

  • Click on the Site Backups icon in the header:

The pointer is on the backup icon in the Site Editor Top Navigation Header, a circular arrow with a checkmark.

Automatic Backups

To view the automatically saved Backup:

  • Select the required backup in the Automatic Backup category:

The Site Backups menu is open, with Automatic section highlighted. It reads “All pages are automatically backed up”.

Last Published Backup

To view the automatically saved Last Published Backup:

  • Select the required backup in the Last Published Backup category:

The Site Backups menu is open, with Last Published outlined. It reads “Created after each successful site publish”

Manual Backups

To view the specific Manual Backup:

  • Select the required backup in the Manual Backups category:

The Site Backups menu is open, with Manual outlined. Up to 8 manual backups can be created.

Creating Backups

  • Click the Create Backup button:

The pointer is on the CREATE BACKUP button at the bottom of the Site Backups menu.

  • After a short process of creating the backup, you will receive a confirmation message that backup was successfully created:

A pop-up over the dimmed editor reads “Successfully created backup: date, time."

  •  You will be able to find this backup in the Manual Backups list.

Restoring Backups

  • Select the date of the required Backup:

In the Site Backups menu, the pointer is on the manual backup.

  • In site preview mode, click the Restore Backup button at the top-right and confirm your decision on the pop-up:

Backup preview is opened. The pointer is on the blue Restore backup button in the Top Header, with Delete backup and Back to editor also visible.

  • After a short process of restoring the backup, you will receive a confirmation message that the backup was successfully restored:

A pop-up over the dimmed preview reads “Successfully restored to: date, time."

  • You can also click Back to Editor button on the top-left to go back to your project:

The pointer is on Back to editor in the backup preview. Delete backup and Restore backup are in the top right.

Please Note: Add-ons (e.g., Store, Blog) are independent and cannot be backed up. They always reflect the current state of your project. For example, if the current version of the project has an Add-on activated, it will show in the backup preview and will remain unchanged after restoring. If the current version of the project doesn't contain a certain Add-on (but it was active at the moment of backup creation), it will not show in the backup preview and will not be restored along with the project.

Deleting Backups

  • Select the date of the required Backup:

Site Backups menu is opened in Site Editor: the pointer is on the manual backup.

  • In Site Preview mode, click the Delete Backup button at the top-right and confirm your decision.

Backup preview is opened. Delete backup button is visible, and the pointer is on the blue Restore backup button in Top Header.

  • After a short process of deleting the backup, you will receive a confirmation message that the backup was successfully deleted:

A pop-up over the dimmed preview reads “Successfully deleted backup: date. time."

  • You can also click Back to Editor button on the top-left to go back to your project:

Backup preview is opened. The pointer is on Back to editor button in Top Header.